Security Academy of Texas ( Up-dated Feb. 17, 2013 )

Home
About Our Facilities Founder
Level III
Services
Level IV
Concealed Handgun License
Directions
Industry Links
Contact Us

State License Number F-00704 since 1994
Owner/Mgr. Stan Sheppard BA Tx.Lic. J-190 Since 1982

hands_cuffed.jpg

Qualifications to be a Security Officer in Texas
 
Must be at least 18 years old. { VIA the 1968 Fed. Gun Control act }
18 to have gun & 21 to buy one.
A Person with a family violence conviction can't have a gun handy since 1994
No Felony convictions, no class A mis. in 10 yrs. generally(new rules applies)
Most Class B Convictions in the past 5 years are not acceptable. Some B's like 1st off. drunk driving B, suspended lic. B drug Class B, prostitution B etc.is ok.
Just cut all that stuff out now & get serious about doing the right thing !!
Successful Deferred Adjudication (dropped & or dismissed) OK.

Qualifications to be a Security Officer in Texas
 
Must be at least 18 years old. { VIA the 1968 Fed. Gun Control act }
18 to have gun & 21 to buy one.
A Person with a family violence conviction can't have a gun handy since 1994
No Felony convictions armed, 10 yrs.from disposion no gun- & Class A Mis.5yrs.from disposition date .
Most Class B Convictions in the past 5 years are not acceptable. Some B's like 1st off. drunk driving B, suspended lic. B drug Class B, prostitution B etc.is ok.
Just cut all that stuff out now & get serious about doing the right thing !!
Successful Deferred Adjudication (dropped & or dismissed) OK.

For Level III (gun class for commissioned officers): You must have the six (6) hour Level II, plus 40 hours of level III classroom instruction & a diploma of completion from an authorized Level III Training facility, to satisfy the :Texas Department of Public Safety Private Security Bureau   Since Dec.1, 2011 this includes 12 hrs. DT 4 hrs. cuffing & a host of other things added to the old 30 hr. program. 40 + 6 Lev(2) = 46 hrs & 6 days  Warning !!!!------ There are still schools in our area who have not embraced this new program or the 6 hr. requirement for lev.II .  the old 30 hr. class was a lot cheeper to put on. & more profitable for a school. This is I'm sure why they are still doing it.     {    (   Last week  ) I learned in north Houston a school is giving the answers  to the test & @ that point watch a bunch of films & boom Lev III diploma given . Something very simalar to this is being done in southwest Houston now & for some time.--Think about Ammo targets & gun range fees on gun day (Ammo prices have soared) & to pay @ least in my case $20/hr Instructors on the fireing line $50/Cadet, for us on thurs. How a school can charge $60 for entire 40 hr class.--- You've got to question the quality of instruction. If any  instruction @ all . } Ultimately the State Police will find out,  & deal with these facilitys & perhaps disallow all Diplomas issued by them !!!!!!  Watch out !!!!!!!  The saying."ya get what ya pay for" comes to mind . Remember you can wait for a guaranteed paycheck for any lev. (3) Moneys, even the $50 to really shoot the gun, with S.A.O.T.

For more information on the following: Levels III, IV, Concealed Handgun License, OC Pepper spray, Baton Training, and more  see Services page.

Contact Stan at:
713-416-2796 classroom
6633 Hillcroft, Suite 225, Houston, Texas 77081